Meet Monica

Monica Bristow for Illinois House District 111


Born and raised in Godfrey, I have spent all my life in the beautiful Riverbend area. I am a mother of two, grandmother, and wife.


Monica Bristow was president of the River Bend Growth Association, a chamber of commerce and economic development agency for 10 communities in Madison and Jersey Counties.

Bristow was with the organization as their president from July 2003 to November 2017.  Prior to joining the Growth Association as its leader, she had been on the board since 1997 and its board chairman in 2001 through her position at Olin Corporation, the region’s largest employer.  While at Olin Corporation for 22 years, Ms. Bristow worked in various functions including human resources, compensation and public relations.

Bristow earned her BA in Business from Lindenwood University in St. Louis, Missouri.

Monica has served many non-profit community organizations by sitting on their boards or serving on various committees.  They include the Illinois Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives, Illinois Association of Economic Developers, United Way of Southwestern Illinois, OSF St. Anthony’s Community Foundation, The Meeting of the Rivers Foundation, Marquette Catholic High School in Alton, and the Alton YWCA.

Community Involvement

  • Godfrey, Illinois Economic Development Committee. 2010-present
  • Board Member, Madison-Bond Workforce Investment Board. 2006-2017
  • Board Member, Illinois Economic Development Association. 2010-2013 and 2014-2016
  • Board Member, OSF St. Anthony’s Hospital Foundation. 2012-2014, 2016-present
  • Board Member, Community Center, Alton, Illinois. 2010-present
  • Founding Member, Rotary of the Riverbend. 2011-present
  • American Cancer Society – Madison County. 2016-present
  • Auxiliary Board Member, United Way of Greater St. Louis, Southwestern Division. 2010-2016
  • Member, Illinois Chamber of Commerce. 2003-2017
  • Board Member, Illinois Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives. 2011-present. Chairman of the Board: 2012-13
  • Board Member Leadership Council Southwestern Illinois participating on the Economic Development Leadership Committee and Public Policy Committee. 2014-2017

For a Better Illinois

    Donate Now